Semi-DIY Mickey Soap Dispenser

So… I love Mickey. He just makes me happy. πŸ˜€

However, I’m not one to make it really obvious I’m decorating all Disney, all the time. I have to be a bit more subtle because it would drive my family crazy if our home was all decked out in black, red, and yellow, with the iconic Mouse at every turn.

How do I balance my love of all things Disney/Happiest Place on Earth without scaring my husband to another town away?

I do things like this… πŸ™‚

I received 2 Mickey soap dispensers from my friend Stephanie for my birthday. One for the bathroom and one for the kitchen. She feeds my obsession gives me great Disney-themed gifts. LOL

But the black just didn’t fit in with my pastel spa-like colors in the bathroom. I had to do something to get Mickey to fit in so he would be allowed to stay.

You guys, I am so thrilled how this turned out!! My spray painting skills aren’t the best. Neither are my photography skills. But here it is… the Mickey head soap dispenser in all its lavender splendor…. before and after!

diy mickey soap

How can you get one of these fabulous Mickey head dispensers for your cleansing and decorating pleasure, you ask?

Here’s the lowdown…

*This is not a paid post. I use these products because I like them. I included a few commercial links just for convenience.*

-Buy the Mickey soap at a Target store (or online atΒ Target)

Also have on hand:

-a block/sponge or sheet of sand paper. I used the 3M brand Fine/Medium Grit Sanding Sponge.

-1 can of spray paint in your choice of color and finish. I bought Krylon’s ColorMaster in glossy finish Gum Drop (I love this stuff and have used it on other projects. It’s primer and paint in one. Anything that saves me a step is awesome!) Here is a link to some info about the paint I used and where you can buy it. Krylon

-Something to cover the surface you are spray painting on. Newspaper, cardboard, plastic drop-cloth all work well and are inexpensive.

-paper towels

-extra container to hold soap

-face mask and disposable gloves (optional, but highly recommended)

So let’s get started.

First, I took off the Mickey sticker and lightly sanded off most of the writing on the bottle. This way, the writing won’t show through the spray paint job.

photo (5)

After sanding, make sure you either rinse off and dry the bottle, or use a clean, damp cloth to remove excess dust/debris.

photo (4)

Next, I dumped out the soap into a measuring cup so it would be easier to pour back into the soap bottle. (You can do this before sanding, if you like.)

photo (1)

I then took a rolled up paper towel and gently placed it in the opening of the bottle. This serves 2 purposes…

1. to keep paint out of the soap bottle

2. it helps to have a little “handle” to turn the bottle while spraying without messing up the fresh, wet paint on the Mickey head.

photo (3)

From there, it’s all just spraying according to directions. It would be best to do two or three light coats instead of getting impatient like I did and try to do it in one. If you spray on the paint too thick it will run.

photo (2)

I prefer to paint outside on a day that’s not too breezy. Always spray paint in a well ventilated area and use a mask or bandana to cover your mouth and nose. You don’t want to inhale the toxins or have a colored inside-of-the-nose treatment. πŸ˜‰

Disposable gloves are also great to have handy. I believe I bought mine for $1.25 for a big pack of them at Walmart.

So there you have it friends! Mickey to fit any decor. *squee* And since I hardly used much of the paint, I’ll have another Disney-inspired craft coming up soon!

Do you decorate with Disney things? Are you more modest or do you go all out?? Comment below, and if you have pictures, I’d love to see them!

2 thoughts on “Semi-DIY Mickey Soap Dispenser

Comment

